Chewy Bars

I was digging through my cook book last weekend to try to plan a few meals. I adore thumbing through it and reading (and re-reading) the recipes from my granny, mom, grandmother, etc.

I wanted to mark another one from the list that I had “cooked”, so when I spotted Chewy Bars I knew it would be easy. It was so easy that I forgot to take pictures til step 3 or so! I love my granny’s handwriting and her circle-y dots on her “i’s”. Plus I always want to type “Grannie” because that’s how she always signed cards to me!

Chewy Bars

Melt 1/2 Cup Butter and pour into 9 x 13 pan*

Sprinkle in order:

1 Cup crushed graham crackers

1 Cup Coconut

1 Cup butterscotch chips*

1 Cup chocolate chips

1 Cup chopped nuts

1 Cup Eagle Brand condensed milk*

Bake for 30 minutes at 350

Cut while warm, Cool and serve.*

*I used a glass pan and melted the butter right in it in the microwave. One less thing to have to wash!

*next time I make it I am using peanut butter chips!

*I used the whole can of condensed milk because I didn’t pay attention to the directions! I don’t know if that’s more than a cup? Well, except for the extra that I ate with a spoon!

*Your eyes and your nose are going to tell you to cut these like brownies. Don’t. Cut them in 1-2 inch squares. They are SO rich that you will die trying to eat a brownie size one. Plus you can always go back for more.

definitely an easy dessert. And one that won’t be sitting around long at home or at work. I took some to work the next day and they were gone within an hour!

-m

Tagged

4 thoughts on “Chewy Bars

  1. Amanda says:

    In case I haven’t told you lately, I love your blog. It’s the best :)

  2. Amy says:

    I make a version of these cookies, too! You can almost add, subtract anything to them and they are always good. Condensed milk is a miracle ingredient!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 479 other followers

