I’ll sleep when I’m dead, right?

 

The bags hanging out under my blue eyes are out of control today. After 3 nights of “going out” in a row, I am worn out. I didn’t necessarily drink too much, just stayed out too late. My body hates me when I get less than the recommended 13 hours of sleep a night!

Last night I was all about going to sleep early. Then I went to bed. And what do ya know… sleep eluded me. So I started reading a book. Some people say reading makes them sleepy, not me! I am horrible about staying up til the wee hours of the morning just because I am loving a book. Books completely distract me from the real world, and sometimes I don’t want to go back to it. The real world has heart ache and tears and loneliness. That sucks folks.

Once I did finally fall asleep, I dreamed about work. I know that when I dream about work multiple days in a row I need to take a vacation day, or turn in my notice. Neither one ever happens.  I was so groggy this morning  I started searching my office for a check a patient had mailed us. Only to realize, WAIT… I think I  dreamed that… damn it. (I wish it had been real, she owes us some moolah!)

It’s friday. YAY! Except that every second of the next 2 days is already planned out. Ugh.

Tomorrow morning I will be marking #85 go to the zoo of my 101 list. I get to spend the morning with my best friend and her beautiful little one. I can’t wait to have my camera in my hand and see what I can capture at the zoo. I also love spending time with Steph and gossiping about the past 20 years of our life.

Then there is an engagement party, a baby christening, a maternity photo session and a movie (Inception, yay!). All by Sunday night. I may need to take Monday off to relax!

I need some help spending my money. The money that I should just leave alone in my account.

I am contemplating upgrading my stupid phone to a smart one, but can’t decide if I should part with the money, or just hold out. Basically I have a couple of different things that I could spend the money on and can’t decide if I want a new phone, a new lens, or maybe hang onto it for something like a tattoo, or a skydiving adventure. 

The phone would change the way I communicate. Like I need to talk MORE… I would actually be able to see an entire comment on a facebook post instead of just part of it. I wouldn’t be able to text and drive anymore, which would make the world a safer place. I could look up random facts when my smart friends aren’t around. I could also blog from it. Which would be awesome!

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G DX Lens

The lens I want can probably wait. I am not spending much quality time with my camera and don’t have a fantastic set up for editing and burning. (speaking of, I owe a friend a disk tomorrow and can’t burn the dang thing… Lee.. help!) But I still want something with a lower (shorter, smaller… I don’t know how to say it) f-stop. (I wish I knew what the hell I was talking about!!!)

A new tattoo has been on my brain for a couple of years. I have 2 so far and they both mean  a lot to me. I love them. I spent a lot of time thinking those through before I got them and do not regret them. The fact that I still like my “new tattoo” idea all this time later makes me wanna do it. I just need to ask around and see who I should use. My only issue is that I want it on my shoulder/upper arm, and that makes the idea of clothing for work/important functions an issue. I don’t deal with people all the time at work, so I wouldn’t offend anyone with it, but I still worry. The two I have now are on my shoulders. And sometimes they can be seen, but if I want to cover them I can. Most of me doesn’t really care, but a small part of me wonders if I will regret it.

Have I ever mentioned I am indecisive?

And yes, I am still contemplating skydiving. I am crazy. But I need some crazy in my life right now.

I wish I was funny, witty and on top of my game. Instead I am just here. Making it day by day, trying to decide what the next step is in this adventure called “life”. If I could just sleep, the world would be in trouble. Well rested Melissa can get a lot accomplished!

-m

 photos from here and here

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “I’ll sleep when I’m dead, right?

  1. Stephanie says:

    I think the best thing is for you to buy my iPhone and then I can get a new one!!! Great idea right!!!! Mad is super excitied to see Aunt Ms. Lissa

  2. Todd Pack says:

    Typing on an iPhone is slow going. It’s fine for tweets, status updates and blog comments, but blogging would be tough. You could do it, but it would take a while. Enjoy the zoo!

  3. Amanda says:

    Don’t be seduced by the iPhone. Seriously. I have a Verizon Droid and love it. But remember not only is the phone expensive so is the monthly plan. And you can’t blog from it…. I mean you COULD but it would take forever.

    • Melissa says:

      i have blogged once before from an iphone. but it was a short blog! :)
      I don’t feel like changing carriers b/c tori’s phone is on my plan and only like 1/2 a year into the contract…

      I am going to probably do nothing and hang on to the money. but I do want one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 479 other followers

