what in the hell have I gotten myself into?

Internet dating… that’s what.

So…. I just reactivated my Match.com account*.  I have no idea what has possessed me to do so. I am not even exactly sure why I started one in the 1st place. I remember that months ago, I had a horrible nightmare and couldn’t go back to sleep. So at 4 am I set it up and proceeded to only wink at people I knew already in real life. They never winked back!

Yesterday I reactivated it. Today I actually paid a membership fee. crazy? crazy. I know.

I have scanned through profile after profile trying to figure out exactly what is wrong with these people to make them resort to this kind of service. I mean, for the most part they seem nice looking and well-rounded. (except for the 60 year old man with the santa beard that winked at me… creepy). It concerns me these nice looking successful men can’t get a date without using the interwebz. Then I realize that I am a nice looking, successful girl, with a Match.com account. Yes, I have started questioning myself.

I wasn’t going to actually spend the money. I talked a little with my aunt about it and we both decided that even if it was a waste of money, I might have some good laughs come from it. A friend of mine mentioned last night that he met his wife on Match many years ago. He told me to be totally honest in my profile. I have done the best I can in hopes I don’t totally freak people out and make them run sceaming into the night.

 I decided to “wink” at a few people, and if any of them actually winked back, I would cough up the dough and see what happens. By the time I got back upstairs from talking to my aunt, I had a return wink. So I did it. I paid the fee for the next 90 days. I emailed the boy who winked at me. He emailed back. He seems nice and normal. I also got an email from a guy asking me if I flossed before brushing or brushed before flossing. He seems weird and not normal. 

I think, if nothing else comes of this, I will have spent some good money for the laugh factor. Don’t worry, I will share!

-m 

*if you are currently “dating” me, have dated me, or want to date me, please do not let this deter you or make you think I might not be interested. I am just being single and seeing what kind of trouble I can get myself into in this online stuff! If you know me, you know I am not looking to settle (ever)or settle down(right now),  I am enjoying single and plan to continue to do so. And I have told you this already! So there…

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “what in the hell have I gotten myself into?

  1. shoutabyss says:

    These days I don’t think there is the same stigma to internet dating that there used to be. I imagine you’ll find roughly the same mix of people, i.e. some normal and suitable for dating, some not, and some psycho. Just like you find everywhere else, like bars, churches and grocery stores.

    My personal theory is that you have to date someone two years to have a chance at getting to know enough of them to make a reasonable guess at which category they fall into. So my advice is have fun, look out for #1, and take things slow. Be careful out there!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Seriously?? Look how I met my husband of 7 years (13 total years)! AOL chat room, how peta file was that ?? I know of several successful interweb dating stories! Good luck!

    • Melissa says:

      yeah, but Steph, I have met your husband… I don’t want to end up with a perv like that! :)
      haha! i kid. I love you guys and love your story. The last chat room guy I actually went out with was the last. It was just too weird.
      Hopefully this will be fun, or at least funny!

  3. Ben says:

    Meh, it’s not so bad. I just closed my eHarmony account and paid for the Match account. Welcome to the 21st century!

  4. Christopher says:

    I used Match.com on and off for several years. I met some really nice, interesting women on there. Some that I still talk to to this day. One of them joked that even if you don’t meet someone on there, they might know someone for you (this is after we went out, realized we weren’t a “match”, and she started dating, and then married, one of my friends).

    Yes, there are the crazy ones, the ones that give you funny stories. Really, though, my life would be less interested if I hadn’t met tea-cup girl, or scaly skin girl.

    The real problem for me was that it could me a morale buster. I would get these emails from obese women from Mississippi who had three kids and only a high school education and they would write me saying, “we have a lot in common” or something like that. On the flip side, women who I would be interested in wouldn’t write back. It can be very humbling.

    I tend to view it as that these are people who are probably busy like I am, and just don’t run in the circles that I do. It’s a big world, and there are many people that I haven’t met who could potentially be my friend, lover, or –gasp– wife.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 478 other followers

