Soundtrack of my life #2 Songs that make me cry.

There is a meme going around that interests me. It’s the Emotional soundtrack meme. Basically for 30 days you post songs/videos from the list below. My new blog buddy Lexi has been working on hers for a week or so and my real life friend Ben just started his.

I have copied and pasted the list and started thinking on it. My musical taste varies and is quite wide. I am the kind of girl who once I like a song, I buy the whole “album”. Then I spend months and months and months listening to a handful of albums. Currently I can’t get enough of Chiodos. (this has been going on for 2 years. It’s kinda ridiculous!) I also am stuck in the sound track of my youth. It’s comfortable there. I am a huge fan of singer/song writer/indie-ish music too, but I don’t know if this list will show that.

My problem is, when given a list to complete, I can’t think of anything. I just sit here and rack my brain or text my ex husband and say “hey, what’s my favorite song? or what’s that song that that guy sings, you know the one about that girl?” Scary thing is, he knows exactly what I am talking about. Damn, I hate him…(but thankful for his ability to understand my retarded brain.)

Anyway, here is my attempt at a meme. 30 days is a long time. But I have done a 30 day challenge before and survived!

1: Your favorite song.

see, I am stuck already…dammit.. can I do these out-of-order? I have a lot of the other ones already figured out! I can’t honestly say I have ONE favorite song. I probably can’t even pick 5. ugh…. ok seriously… I am skipping this one. Maybe after 29 days of posting other songs I will figure out my favorite.

#2 A song that makes you cry.

Daniel by Elton John

I love this song. And just about every other song EJ write/sings. I used to have a huge hatred for Elton. As a kid I was forced to see him in concert half a dozen times. I slept through an entire concert when I was 6 only to wake up for Crocodile Rock. I also saw him and Billy Joel in Atlanta many moons ago. Again, I slept through most of it due to a migraine. (I can sleep anywhere). But, the last time I saw him perform I was a grown up and was much more aware of the talent I was witnessing. He’s pretty amazing. And this song always catches my heart off guard and makes me tear up a little.

Hold on by Sarah Mclachlan

This song… gets me. every. time. When she sings the following phrase, my heart just breaks.

“Oh God if you’re out there won’t you hear me
I know that we’ve never talked before

Oh God the man I love is leaving
Won’t you take him when he comes to your door”

1. Your favorite song
2: A song that makes you cry.
3: A song that makes you dance.
4: Your favorite male singer.
5: Your favorite female singer.
6: Your favorite band.
7: One band/singer you’re ashamed to admit you like.
8: One band/singer whose popularity you will never understand.
9: A song that reminds you of an ex.
10: A song that reminds you of your father.
11: A song that reminds you of your mother.
12: A song that makes you want to have sex.
13: A song you sing in the shower.
14: A song from the year you were born.
15: A song you liked in high school.
16: The first song in your mp3 folder.
17: The last song in your mp3 folder.
18: An instrumental song you like.
19: Your favorite love song.
20: Your favorite breakup song.
21: A song that makes you want to break stuff.
22: Your favorite song from a movie.
23: Your favorite duet.
24: Your favorite cover song.
25: Your favorite song from 2010 (so far)
26: Your favorite music video.
27: One song in your mp3 folder you’re pretty sure no one else has.
28: One song that needs to never be played again.
29: One song that gives you the creeps.
30: A song you’d like played at your funeral.

Let’s see how far I can actually get with this!

-m

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Soundtrack of my life #2 Songs that make me cry.

  1. shoutabyss says:

    Seriously. Who thinks up these lists? I think they are cruel! :)

    So yeah, thanks for the listen of Daniel. Enjoyed it.

  2. Alexia says:

    Oh god, Daniel, yes, that song make me cry too!

  3. […] little bit ago, Melissa wrote a post about a music meme she was going to start […]

  4. […] busiest day of the year was November 26th with 206 views. The most popular post that day was Soundtrack of my life #2 Songs that make me cry.. (the only reason i had that many hits on that day was because this kid decided to read every post […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 478 other followers

